Biochemistry majors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rafael Cavalcan

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
This is the first time I post in SDN. I was just wondering how hard does biochemistry classes get? Is there any advantages to be a biochem major when you apply to medical school? I'm still a freshman and I was thinking about maloring in Biochem.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

I am a biochem major. I think it is beneficial just because so many people are bio majors that it makes you a little different. As far as how hard the classes are, I think that is all relative. Most bio majors I know take a biochem class anyway because it is so helpful for med school and also for the mcat. The biggest problem I have with biochem is 1 year of physical chemistry is required at my school. Your school may be different, but this is definitely the most difficult and also useless part of biochem, but if you take it when you are a senior like I am, the grade you get isn't too important.

Biochem is a difficult major and I can say that because I was a Biochem/Micro/Molecular major and it was definitely harder than the other 2. You need to be very good at math and physics to cut it in a chem major. You also have to thoroughly enjoy chemistry of all sorts (stuff you really have no experience with yet, like physical and analytical). Be prepared to study alot and devote alot of your free time to preparing for class and exams. I really enjoyed it though, and I'm glad that I have the Biochem background. If your goal is to go to med school, then just be aware that some of the required classes in Biochem can really hurt your GPA (like P Chem is very, very difficult)

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you for the replies, but by majoring in Biochem and if I have the same gpa as in another major, does it increase my chances?

Thank you