Apr 3, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I am a sophomore, looking to take the MCAT in 5 months. I have finished all of the required classes (except for the second part of physics, which I will take in the summer), and I am working through the TPR Hyperlearning Biological Sciences, yet the highest I can seem to score is a 9/10 on the AMCAS. (I have taken Genetics, which is a help on it)

Time is not an issue - I usually finish with 20 minutes to spare - but it's the details that I miss, especially since this section is at the end of the test.

The organic chemistry isn't much of a problem, either. I missed 4 questions on that the last MCAT I took, but missed 9 biology.

Any hints? Any suggestions? I'm having similar issues with the Physical sciences, but most of the questions I miss there are concepts I haven't yet covered, so I am not as concerned (and I'm getting the BR physics books). I am looking to get a solid 12, 11 at absolute minimum.

SN2ed

Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jun 27, 2007
Status
Resident [Any Field]
First off, you should not even be glancing at the AAMC practice tests, let along taking them. They should be used when you're much closer to your test date. If you are taking these, it is an enormous waste of resources and you need to stop.

Secondly, using up practice problems when you're 5 months away from your test date is also a waste. The only studying you should be doing this far away is content review. Even that isn't helpful. You need 3 months of concentrated studying.

I suggest you stop studying and regroup once you're closer to your test date. At the very least you must stop using your practice passage resources because using them this early is a complete waste.

Apr 3, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
What studying I do now will not be the only thing I do. Now that I know where I am weak, now is the time where I want to solidify weak concepts, so that in the summer I can do concentrated intense studying.