Biology Major

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ohgodidonteven

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hypothetical scenario: Say I was a biology major. And I didn't want to do research or get a PhD. What kind of job would I be expecting?

Members don't see this ad.

Hypothetical scenario: Say I was a biology major. And I didn't want to do research or get a PhD. What kind of job would I be expecting?

Ummm....high school bio teacher?

The fact is, most people probably end up doing something that is irrelevant to what they majored in college.

Lab work. Teaching. Work for government. But the above poster is correct. I teach subjects that are all out of the scope of what I majored in college.

Members don't see this ad :)
professional sperm doner? although i don't think what degree you have will really matter for that one haha

The fact is, most people probably end up doing something that is irrelevant to what they majored in college.

:thumbup:
The fact is that a bachelors in anything except engineering is arguable what a high school degree 10 years ago.

:thumbup:
The fact is that a bachelors in anything except engineering is arguable what a high school degree 10 years ago.

Eh... a bachelors in theater will prepare you more for a performing arts job, and a bachelors in secondary education will prepare you fairly well for a job as a teacher (though I think most have to get a masters at some point now anyway).

But yeah, any liberal arts degree is pretty non-specific.

Eh... a bachelors in theater will prepare you more for a performing arts job, and a bachelors in secondary education will prepare you fairly well for a job as a teacher (though I think most have to get a masters at some point now anyway).

But yeah, any liberal arts degree is pretty non-specific.

Not to mention even if its specific you'll have trouble getting a job without experience of a masters.