Biomedical Engineering to Pre-Med to Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tg0832

Reaction score
I am a Junior Biomedical Engineering student. My university offers a regular and a pre-med track for BE majors, and for freshman, sophomore and the first half of junior year I was not pre-med, and now I have decided to pursue medical school, and I am so happy that I have finally found the path that I know I am going to be happy in. Even though I wasn't a pre-med initially, some of pre-med classes were required for BE anyway. Now, adding the higher level pre-med classes on top of the already rigorous BE curriculum, and I am trying to proceed in the smartest way possible so I do not burn myself out, while also giving myself the best chance possible to at getting into medical school. Unfortunately, my advisors have had a tough time figuring out how to guide me on this path as I have not been a BE/pre-med since the beginning like most. Though my situation is unique and I could be considered a 'non-traditional student', any and all advice is welcome for the many questions and concerns.

1.) First, details:
My biggest obstacle, which is my primary focus before anything else, is raising my GPA. It's a 3.0, which obviously needs to go way up. The low GPA is primarily due to the engineering curriculum, mainly the general engineering classes I've had to take, e.g. fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, electronics, and the like. However, I have done very well in my BE classes, all A's so far. I am confident that my GPA is going to only go up for the rest of undergrad, because those engineering classes are out of the way, and the rest of my curriculum is almost 100% either BE classes or pre-med classes.

2.) Relevant coursework:
The courses that I have taken so far, some of which may not be relevant but I believe they will stand out on my transcript:

Science Pre-Requisites:
Gen. Bio 1 + Lab (C)