Birthday and bummed out after NOVA interview...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xaznxcountx

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
REALLY NEED ADVICE. WILL BE A BIT LONG BUT BEAR WITH ME...

I had my one and only interview yesterday at NOVA. Basically right when I walked in the interviewer told me straight up, "you have a lot of speaking to do because I rarely see a file like this with so many D's and repeated classes." Being prepared for this I went on to tell him that during my early undergraduate career I wasn't as focused as I should have been, had two jobs, hard time adjusting to college, as well as having too many extracurriculars. I said ultimately I'm not here to make excuses and that the experiences helped change me into the mature and qualified applicant I am today. Just to let you know the end of my 3rd year in undergrad my GPA was at 2.4. I brought it up to a 2.8ish by the time I graduated (stayed a 5th year). Then I did a Masters in Biomedical Sciences and got a 3.89. DAT was AA 20 TS 20 PAT 18. OGPA 2.95 / BCP 2.8. So he kept asking me about it and I kept telling him that my Masters GPA and my DAT is the best representation of my academic abilities and he doesn't need to worry about me struggling with grades again because that was the old me. Then he tells me that I for sure will not be a Dec 1st acceptance! It seemed like he was going to put me on a waitlist and reject me or something. So I did well in the other aspects of the interview but I felt the whole time it was about him trying to look for why I did bad rather than how I turned it around. I really felt that he didn't recognize the efforts of a Masters program because he kept saying post-bac. I was like dude Masters is waaaaaaaaaay harder than post-bacc. At the end he said that 1 year of consistency isn't enough to demonstrate that its enough to handle dental school. He told me to take more classes to show more consistency. I was