Blood/Death/Disease

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Storm9

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so I volunteered at a hospital. I enjoyed it a lot.
Patient contact was limited. I mean I helped doctors/nurses with basic procedures and stuff and routinely took vitals but thats about it.

I have never seen a dead body in my life, and im not a big fan of blood and gore.

I know I would not like being a surgeon, I can't handle the fact that im going to be messing inside someone's body.
Any medstudents felt the sameway in their pre-med years?
I dont want to go into medicine and later gross out.

I am mainly thinking of going the Radiology route. But who knows im just still a freshman @ undergrad.

Members don't see this ad.

Patient contact was limited. I mean I helped doctors/nurses with basic procedures and stuff and routinely took vitals but thats about it.

I have never seen a dead body in my life, and im not a big fan of blood and gore.

I know I would not like being a surgeon, I can't handle the fact that im going to be messing inside someone's body.

I am mainly thinking of going the Radiology route. But who knows im just still a freshman @ undergrad.

Don't choose a specialty until you actually see what they do in later years of med school. FWIW, radiologists are becoming progressively more interventional and many do quite a bit of fairly invasive procedures these days. You will have to get through anatomy dissection first year, and at least a rotation in surgery during your third year of med school (as well as OB which is a different kind of invasive) -- these probably will cure you of your blood and guts phobias.

How come?

Members don't see this ad :)