Board of Psychology(CA) Approved Clinical - licensing program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sue003

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

It is so nice to find this forum where I can discuss my questions with some of you. :)
Let me briefly introduce myself first. I received a Ph.D. in developmental psychology from one of the UC schools last year. I currently work as an educational researcher/program evaluator. Since I graduated from my program, I have been thinking of moving toward clinical psychology and becoming a licensed child clinician in the future. However, I don't wish to go over another 4-5 years graduate program - clinical programs usually accredited by APA. So I started to search for online programs. I found a number of Board of Psychology (BOP in CA) approved programs-programs qualify their students for BOP regulated license test. I applied the one that is near my home. The program will take me about 3 years to complete as a part-time student and cost about 20,000$. I can afford the tuition as long as I attend the school part-time. Once I reach the stage when I need to do my internships, I can quit my job. This is my plan.

However, I have a few questions about BOP approved program. I truly appreciate your time and help on this.

1. If I want to become a child clinician in the future, should I focus my internship on child-related issues only?
Or what is the best way to pursue this area of expertise? How should I prepare for this?