This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ScrubswithnoSleeves

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone!

So I have always taken for fact and not tried to understand in depth that bond breakage is endergonic and bond formation is exergonic. That has gotten me pretty far in life, but now that I'm studying for the MCAT, I'd like to understand that better.

This has always confused me in regards to molecules like ATP, as well as processes like Catabolism and Anabolism. Then, watching a Kaplan video, they said that ATP formation (ADP + Pi > ATP) is an endergonic reaction (HUH????). Also, why is it that ATP hydrolysis releases energy while bonds are being broken?

My idea (have no clue if this even on the right track) is that although the breakage of the ATP into ADP + Pi does require an initial endergonic addition of energy, the overall process is exergonic because of how high Energy/unstable the bonds are.

Can someone please clarify this for me?

Members don't see this ad.

ATP wouldn't be a source of energy if breaking it down did not release energy.

Don't follow the hard and fast rule of bond breakage being endergonic and bond formation being exergonic. This is not always the case. Recall what you learned in General Chemistry about Gibbs Free Energy.

For instance, enthalpy of bond formation = sum of bonds broken - sum of bonds formed.

Hi @ScrubswithnoSleeves -