book for rotation & instructional videos

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

How much would you be willing to pay to rent videos produced by faculty?

• $3

Votes: 7 43.8%
  • $4

Votes: 5 31.3%
  • $5

Votes: 3 18.8%
  • $6

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • $7

Votes: 1 6.3%

• Total voters

jf

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a fourth year med student that will be doing emergency medicine next year. I have an ophtho rotation coming up and would like a nice, concise book for the rotation. Is clinical ophtho made ridiculously simple any good?

I would appreciate any advice you can offer.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I read that book as a med student and thought it had some good stuff in it. The American Academy of Ophthalmology book "Basic Ophthalmology for Medical Students and Primary Care Residents" is also good and has many nice color pictures (unlike the ridiculously simple book) and is still a reasonable length (150 pages, ~25 of which are review questions). As you can tell from the title, it's prepared by ophthalmologists for someone just like you. Personally, this is the book I would recommend. I'm planning on reading it again later this year to review the basics before I start my ophtho residency.

You can get if for cheap from a previous owner on Amazon (same as RS book):
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/t...103-0370006-7219830?v=glance&s=books&n=507846

Some people might also recommend the Lange book (also called Vaughn?) but I never used that book.

Members don't see this ad :)
Andrew_Doan said:
If you could rent a video that is downloadable to your computer to help you with learning to perform the ophthalmology exam, then would you rent it? How much would you rent it for?

depends on the length of the video. I might be hard pressed to shell out as much as $5 for 5 minutes of video, but maybe $3 for 30 minutes.