Aug 25, 2015
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I'm an ER resident and have my ICU rotation next month. 'Calls' are scheduled from 6am to 12pm the next day. I know the 'more experienced' physicians on here will wax on about the good ol' days, but this is pretty clearly a violation of ACGME rules which limit us to no more than 16 consecutive hours. We are being told our university is part of a 'study' to see how well we can deal with these hours.

Has anyone heard of this or had experience with it? I don't want to be the one person who complains, but this is pretty bogus, no?

Daiphon

Semper Ubi Sub Ubi
15+ Year Member
Nov 6, 2003
The Windy City
Status
Attending Physician
I'm an ER resident and have my ICU rotation next month. 'Calls' are scheduled from 6am to 12pm the next day. I know the 'more experienced' physicians on here will wax on about the good ol' days, but this is pretty clearly a violation of ACGME rules which limit us to no more than 16 consecutive hours. We are being told our university is part of a 'study' to see how well we can deal with these hours.

Has anyone heard of this or had experience with it? I don't want to be the one person who complains, but this is pretty bogus, no?
If you're an intern, could be a violation... that said, there are studies in progress to look at this question. The "naptime" rules - which were never really based on good data a priori - have increased error from handoffs.

So, some studies are indeed being done to ascertain the "ideal" balance betwixt rest & patient care. Ask your PD for a copy of the ACGME waiver showing participation.

If you're not an intern, 16h doesn't apply.

link2swim06

10+ Year Member
Dec 14, 2007
Status
Attending Physician

There are studies that look at this...http://www.thefirsttrial.org/Overview/Overview Interesting though when it comes to residents your participation is neither voluntary or really even informed.