1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

buffing up the applications

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by benogurl, Nov 5, 2002.

1. benogurl

benogurl Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

I'm very new in this scene. In fact, I told myself I'm quite burned out from 20 years of schooling. I finally got out of UC Berkeley School of Public Health with an MPH, and I'm already considering a doctorate! I don't want to put myself through so much school (especially my fiance doesn't like the idea of me with more stress), but I feel like DO's my calling. TUCOM presented this field unbeknownst to me in 1997 when I was an undergrad @ Berkeley. I found it interesting, but I decided to pursue an MPH to further my knowledge of the medical field and disease prevention from the administration p.o.v. I actually have an MPH in infectious disease. I really want to make use of both MPH and DO, but I'm not sure how I can integrate both backgrounds.

I'm quite aware of the cost associated with applying. I don't just mean $$$, but the emotional and physical strain. My undergrad GPA was so-so (I doubled for fun and sanity), but my grad GPA was better. Do they take that into consideration? Is there a counselor @ the COMs who can look at my transcripts and tell me how high of an MCAT score I need to get in? I want to first assess my chances of getting in before I attempt at getting in. I really think that osteopathy aligns with my approach on health.

What do you think? Is this what you did before you applied? Did you have to retake classes to improve your chances of getting in? My BAs were in Molecular 'n Cell Bio and Psychology (biological).

I'm also interested in TUCOM and WUCOM. Any preference?

Any help would be appreciated.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. gaffer