Burn out, general lack of care

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

apicalforamen

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im sure I’m not the first and I won’t be the last - but does anyone else feel like their day-to-day is p.o.i.n.t.l.e.s.s.? I’m in my second year (no clinical experience yet) and every day I feel less and less inclined to care. Our classes have nothing to do with anything and the ones that are dental related are so poorly taught that I don’t learn at all. I’m top 15 in my class of 120 so it’s not for reasons such as ‘it’s too hard’...I’m just over it.

Any other D2’s feeling this way? Does it get better with patients?

Members don't see this ad.

M3 and I feel this way, it's just part of the process. Once you get more responsibilities you'll start to enjoy it more.

Im sure I’m not the first and I won’t be the last - but does anyone else feel like their day-to-day is p.o.i.n.t.l.e.s.s.? I’m in my second year (no clinical experience yet) and every day I feel less and less inclined to care. Our classes have nothing to do with anything and the ones that are dental related are so poorly taught that I don’t learn at all. I’m top 15 in my class of 120 so it’s not for reasons such as ‘it’s too hard’...I’m just over it.

Burned out after the first year. When I was busy in physiology or some human anatomy learning about the liver nonsense...that it was just irrelevant towards general practice. Realized that doesn't matter if you finish top 1 or bottom 5 of the class...as long as you get a DDS degree it doesn't really matter. So aimed for C's get Degree's and had fun the rest of the year. I always thought that Dental School was EASIER to coast by...as they rarely failed anyone...but it was WAY harder to be top of the class. Undergrad was WAY easier to be top of the class...and way harder to coast by with C's. Just my experience.