May 8, 2020
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
This semester, I got a C in Chemistry... specifically, I attend the university of Miami, here the chemistry department is different, in which instead of having general chemistry 1 and then general chemistry 2, they have eternal chemistry all in 1 semester. It's really tough, and there's no choice for students, you have to take it all in 1 semester. As a result, it's extremely tough, and COVID-19 situation made it no different, especially since I came to UM as a Spring admit so this was my first semester here adjusting as well.

I took 17 credits, bio 2, bio 2 lab, general chemistry lab, architecture (for my minor)... all of which I got As in.
I took calculus 1... which I got an A- in (.5% off from an A, sigh)

But Chemistry... I got a C. My professor, doesn't really care because in his opinion "if you hate your grade you could choose to take the credit/no credit option".

But as a premed student, I'm concerned on how this may look for me, being that of all the 6 courses I took, only 1 I randomly selected to make credit/no credit, which also happens to be an important perquisite for medical schools. Would raise a red flag even though yes everyone is aware that this semester was turned upside down by a pandemic.

My pre-med advisor has told me that I can just take the credit/no credit since it's below a B... but I honestly want advice from a group of doctors or other pre-meds who are in my shoes and truly understand the pros and cons. Today is the deadline to notify my school if I choose to do credit/no credit. I only just found out my chemistry letter grade.