C in Pharm, am I sunk?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

icare4u

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year med student, nearly 4th year, and am trying like crazy to decide what I want to do. I know it has to be procedure-oriented, so am looking at surgery or maybe anesthesiology. The only thing -- and it's a big thing -- is my step 1 score, a 192. Ughhh. However, I am going to try my hardest to get my step 2 up, God be willing.

I know both of these fields are very competitive, especially with that 192 looking at me. My grades are pretty much all B's, with the exception of a "C" in Pharm. All my 3rd year clinical evaluations are stellar, by the way, which should lead to great Dean's letter and LOR's.

I'm supposing that "C" and the step 1 192 pretty much shoots my chances. Anybody with any input?

By the way, I'm from Texas, and am looking for maybe some of the "reachable" programs in this state or bordering states, maybe.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Read the FAQ, most of the info still holds true. The c in pharm prolly won't make difference but your 192 will. If you're an MD student you still have a pretty good chance if you do well on step II. There are still plenty of spots out there. Good LORs......blah blah blah........good auditions.....blah blah blah.....research....blah blah blah, well you prolly already know the rest.

Members don't see this ad :)
Read the FAQ, most of the info still holds true. The c in pharm prolly won't make difference but your 192 will. If you're an MD student you still have a pretty good chance if you do well on step II. There are still plenty of spots out there. Good LORs......blah blah blah........good auditions.....blah blah blah.....research....blah blah blah, well you prolly already know the rest.