Mar 25, 2010
Status
I am a current sophomore, pre-med major. I am taking statistics right now. I am having trouble scheduling for junior classes.

I know calculus is highly recommended, but when should i take it? My options are first semester junior year, or sometime senior year. Would it help my application if I took it junior year as opposed to senior year- specifically, do med school want to see grade i want in calc, or just that i will take it before entering med school?

id prefer to take it senior year when i have less science coursework, but i dont want to take it "too late" since I will be applying before my calc grade is on my transcript.

any help is GREATLY appreciated. THANKS SO MUCH!!!

Mar 26, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
You know, it's funny....I thought calculus was a must too...and then schools like Texas Tech, who wanted a calculus or statistics class, said that starting this next app cycle, calculus will no longer be accepted. And my pre-med advisor said they're really trying to get away from calculus for med schools. Other people might think differently, but that seems to be the consensus here in Texas.

Sorry. I know that didn't help with your question at all.

naijaboi

MS0
Nov 20, 2009
Boston, MA
Status
Medical Student
Take it whenever. It won't affect your chances at all. Most medical schools do not look at the requirements until you have been accepted and about to matriculate.

EyEnStein 07

Senior ɸ Member
10+ Year Member
Apr 6, 2008
East Coast
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
have you considered a winter or summer session? It may be easier on the load for you.

Feb 7, 2010
N. Texas
Status
Pre-Medical