Quantcast

California GPR vs. WREB examination Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nyu2007gal

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey - I am a 4th year dental student that was recently matched to a GPR program in California. I was going to take the WREB exam in March but I also know that California just passed a law that will give licensure by doing the residency. :oops:

BUT...Someone in my class told me that I shouldn't take the WREB because if for any reason I fail the WREBs due to patients, etc, then even if I do the residency I will still have to take the WREB again!! IS THIS TRUE?!?! If that's the case I'd rather wait to take the WREB. I'm not lazy and of course I don't plan to fail the WREB at all - but with licensing exams who knows?!? :confused:

Sorry if this is confusing but I just want to know if it is true - if I fail the WREB for any reason, if I am doing the residency program, will I be guaranteed licensure or will I still have to take the WREB? Thanks so much and hope someone knows.

Prosthoman

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
don't take the wreb, and as you said and I know for fact that if you take the wreb and god forbid you fail, then even if you do residancy, you will have to take the wreb again regardless.
Smart

nyu2007gal

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thank you for your advice. I called today and spoke with a lady from the Dental board of California in Sacramento and she confirmed it: that if for any reason you fail the WREB then you must pass the WREB - regardless of residency. So I'm gonna wait - Thanks again for your input!

:oops:
don't take the wreb, and as you said and I know for fact that if you take the wreb and god forbid you fail, then even if you do residancy, you will have to take the wreb again regardless.
Smart

Prosthoman

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear aimhigh2007: