Quantcast

California Letter

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rirriri

easy
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i wasnt previously thinking of pursuing anything in California, but lately ive gained interest in some programs there for next year's match.

im relatively new to the idea, so i thought id start here and ask any of you if there were any perspectives/ideas/advice for getting the glorified "California Letter" to apply to their programs.

anyone have any experience in this matter?

redleft123

Ho' Dawg
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anytime you have to go thru a goverment/bureaucratic process, it gets a bad rap. But getting the California letter is not such a big deal.

You have to fill out a complete application process, as if you were applying for licensure......except that you are doing it a bit earlier.

They simply want to make sure that you have received the medical education as set forth in law, that you have the required clerkships, exams, etc. (The clerkships are the biggest stumbling block for most IMGs....if you don't have the required weeks of clerkships, you have to remediate.) The biggest delays come from trying to get documents from your medical school (depends on what country and how much experience the school has in dealing with California Board).

Remember....they only require things of us to get the letter which they require to get licensed.

Then....once they have determined that your background is OK, they issue the letter. Then, you can begin training in Calif. The advantage is -- you have already gone thru the application process. When you have completed your second year of training, you will only have to update your application (a one page form) and provide verification of satisfactory completion of training...and you are licensed. (Of course, they want another check at that point, too.)

Cheers

rirriri

easy
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
redleft,