Can a person who is not good at practical things,be a doctor?

Loganxmen

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am 15 years old,and I am very successful at my studies, I am dreaming to become a doctor, but I am worried about one thing my parents never forced me to do any work, because of that I just don t know how to do many things, and we know that the medical field is mostly practicing, should I keep dreaming or change my mind.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I mean it will be very hard for me to perform an injection or to suture a wound, because i am not good at doing any work.
If you're saying you don't have good work ethic... then yes it will be very hard. But you're way too young to worry about this, who knows where your future will take you. But for example, I shadowed an orthopedic surgeon that didn't pick up a screwdriver, saw or hammer at home but sure knew how to use tools in the OR. You'll find your niche don't worry... just have to be dedicated

Reactions: 1 user
I am 15 years old,and I am very successful at my studies, I am dreaming to become a doctor, but I am worried about one thing my parents never forced me to do any work, because of that I just don t know how to do many things, and we know that the medical field is mostly practicing, should I keep dreaming or change my mind.

The good news is that you are recognizing where you may need work. You're only 15. Start seeking out opportunities on your own initiative (with your parents permission of course). Being a doctor (and an adult) means you don't rely on others to provide you with things.

Keep dreaming :) But also start working towards that dream.

Last edited by a moderator:
Many doctors are very smart and knowledgeable in their field but know nothing outside of their field due to the limited amount of time they have. This is why car dealerships take advantage of them for example. You'll have no problem going into medicine if that is you.