Can anyone explain how OOS/IS determination is made?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wahed

Tilapia
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it solely based on what state you select on the AMCAS primary application?

If I say that my home state is Michigan, and I use my mom's Michigan address on my application, will I get in state consideration for admissions purposes? Or will they look at my application and say "Well, you've been taking classes and doing all of these activities in a state that isn't Michigan. It kind of looks like you're lying about being a MI resident."?

Background info: I was a lifelong MI resident until 4 years ago, and I graduated high school and college in Michigan.

*NOTE: I am not asking about in state consideration for tuition. I am aware that there is abundant information on that topic available online.

I tried just asking Wayne State what their policy is, but they don't answer the phone or return emails.

Members don't see this ad.

You really have to research what the requirements are per state, not necessarily per school, since the state provides their charter. Whatever you choose as your state of residence, be ready to substantiate it with something more than just a name on an electricity bill. Without getting into the minutia, be prepared to provide proof in numerous forms.

Reactions: 1 user
Or you could just look it up for Wayne State? Now how the adcom will interpet your applicationis impossible to know

Canadian and permanent residentstudents - Admissions - School of ...
Your residency for admission purposes is determined by the legal residence stated on your American Medical College Application Services application. To be eligible to apply for admission to the Wayne State University School of Medicine, you must have co.
admissions.med.wayne.edu/application/canadian.php