ktwallis

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jul 10, 2006
Status
I'm begining to freak out about my chances of getting into a good program...

I graduated with a 3.41 (3.62 in Psychology) from an Ivy League college in 2005... 2 years clinical research experience, 2 posters presented, 2 papers as a first author, 1 as a contributing author... good recommendations, GRE better than 1350. I know my GPA is holding me back... but I have my heart set on Berkeley PhD in Clinical Psych... am I deluding myself into thinking I have a chance with a low GPA? Do I have a chance at UCLA, Upenn, and other good schools? Or should I be setting my standards a little lower? I have no idea where I stand... PLEASE HELP!

JatPenn

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 27, 2005
Status
ktwallis said:

I graduated with a 3.41 (3.62 in Psychology) from an Ivy League college in 2005... 2 years clinical research experience, 2 posters presented, 2 papers as a first author, 1 as a contributing author... good recommendations, GRE better than 1350. I know my GPA is holding me back... but I have my heart set on Berkeley PhD in Clinical Psych... am I deluding myself into thinking I have a chance with a low GPA? Do I have a chance at UCLA, Upenn, and other good schools? Or should I be setting my standards a little lower? I have no idea where I stand... PLEASE HELP!
For high caliber research programs like those, its truly all about the interest match between you and a potential advisor. Remember, clinical psych grad school is less about "just getting in" and more about finding the ideal environment in which to begin your career. What is your research experience?

Quynh2007

the oracle of destiny
10+ Year Member
Jul 16, 2004
Status
Psychology Student

Last edited:
About the Ads

butterfli73

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 23, 2006
Status
Other Health Professions Student