SergeGainsbourg

10+ Year Member
Nov 30, 2005
Status
I'm a new GS intern. I'm wondering if I can spend my vacation time moonlighting in an ER or something. Is that possible? Would I need to get my own liability insurance or would I be covered by the hospital I moonlighted for? How do people go about getting ML jobs?

I know it may or may not be allowed by my PD but I'd like to find out if it's even possible before I ask him. Thanks.

Pilot Doc

SDN Angel
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Mar 6, 2002
Visit site
Status
Resident [Any Field]
SergeGainsbourg said:
I'm a new GS intern. I'm wondering if I can spend my vacation time moonlighting in an ER or something. Is that possible? Would I need to get my own liability insurance or would I be covered by the hospital I moonlighted for? How do people go about getting ML jobs?

I know it may or may not be allowed by my PD but I'd like to find out if it's even possible before I ask him. Thanks.
You would need an unrestricted license to moonlight. To my knowledge, no state will license anyone before completing internship. Check with your state medical board, though. If you can get a permanent license, post your other questions again.

geekgirl

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 6, 2005
Status
SergeGainsbourg said:

are you sh**tting me?

i'm sorry, but i can't imagine how one would have the time, or the energy, to moonlight as an intern. i'm reading/preparing/sleeping/doing laundry/getting groceries/catching up with family who think i'm dead/etc. with every spare second of my days. i can't imagine a program that is that much different.

but that's just me. i'm having fun, but there is NO WAY IN HELL i can imagine an intern having any time in which to have another job. whew, that's just crazy talk.

that aside, i think there are licensing issues. we are on limited licenses for now, which i think forbid moonlighting. here we can change status around year 3, i think.

About the Ads

Pir8DeacDoc

Cerumen Extractor