Can I take one year of orgo this summer and study for August MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tofurkey

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a post-bacc student who will be done with all pre-reqs this May except for orgo 1 and 2. I had to withdraw from orgo I in the fall because it was interfering with getting good grades in my other classes. My science GPA is a 3.55.

Anyhow, I'm starting to wonder if I can take one year of orgo (no lab--will take that next year) AND take Kaplan to study for the August MCAT. I've been studying for the August MCAT since mid-January, but it's been slow going. I am starting to wonder if I can get A's or at least B+ in orgos plus do well on the MCAT. My school does one semester of orgo in six-week blocks over the summer. It will be over a week before the August MCAT. There is one month in-between spring semester and the summer session in which I would study a ton for the MCAT, but I'm still wondering if this is possible.

I woulnd't be working or doing anything else--just some volunteering I guess.

I found orgo I VERY difficult in the fall (which is why I dropped it--because I was getting C's but I also had a very brutal prof).

The other option would just to take part I of orgo and take the MCAT without part II. Would that be a good idea? I'll be applying this June for fall 2005.

Thanks,

Tofurkey

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I did just that - took the entire organic sequence in the summer when I was also taking the MCAT. Near August, I had to study for the organic content that had not been covered in class yet. So essentially, I took the MCAT only having had 1 and 1/2 organic classes out of 2.

It's very possible to do, but it's rough. I would suggest taking both of the organic courses in the summer, since there were quite a few questions about biochemistry, NMR, IR spectroscopy, etc. where I had no idea.