Can Joining Premed AMSA hurt app?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smallbiz2doc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to join this club purely because I have no leadership experience. I have my own business but they aren't going to care about that because it is just me, I'm not managing any employees or contractors (and it is not in the best interest for the field I am in). Being only part-time now with new interest in medicine, I'm not dedicated enough to my current field to be considered a leader of a networking group, for example.

I thought AMSA would be a perfect way to learn about the issues I can get involved in that compliment my new interest in medicine, give me communication/leadership/involvement direction, etc... but I'm seeing all these old posts here about how it's really left-wing, so I'm afraid that adcoms will toss my app as soon as they see I am AMSA, thinking I'm just some political nutcase.

If that is true, what would be a good alternative to AMSA "training for future doctors with social responsibility, etc..." type of program to join that will develop me personally and professionally, give me better awareness of issues in the medical field (and honestly, help me overcome my fears of public speaking/talking to important people)? I thought about seeing if there is a pre-med program in AMA, but I hear a lot of doctors hate that org now, too.

Members don't see this ad.

I want to join this club purely because I have no leadership experience. I have my own business but they aren't going to care about that because it is just me, I'm not managing any employees or contractors (and it is not in the best interest for the field I am in). Being only part-time now with new interest in medicine, I'm not dedicated enough to my current field to be considered a leader of a networking group, for example.