Can/Should I do IM after FM for hospitalist work in competitive areas (S.FL, S.CA)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fococoroco22

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN-IM. Thanks for your time.

I'm a rising PGY3 FM resident on a hospitalist training track wanting to do hospital medicine after graduation. I will graduate with approx 10 months of adult hospital medicine, 2 of which will be ICU. That's mod-high for FM, pretty low for IM, I believe.

My family live in two of the most competitive areas in the US: S. FL and S. CA. I've been away for a long time and my main goal is to be closer to them after training-- aging parents, brother and his kids, friends, etc. I know the issue of finding a job would be less difficult if they lived in more rural areas

Questions:

1. Is it UNreasonable to think that finding a solid hospitalist job, as an FM-trained freshly-minted grad, in or around LA/Miami is possible?
- If possible, do you have any job search resources or hunting advice?
- Do any of you commute 2 or more hours for your week on week off schedule? Is it rational to have two homes?
- Any thoughts on doing Locums for the first year out vs a perm job straight off?​

2. FM Hospitalist fellowship: I am strongly considering doing an FM hospitalist fellowship. However, I have no idea how much it will improve my marketability in my desired field and locations. Does it let me compete at the same level as a newly trained IM grad or will many places always hire IM only?
- If anyone here is on the hiring committee of your group would you please share how you view a FM hospitalist vs FM with hospitalist fellowship trained applicant? Would the fellowship open up a significant amount of doors in your opinion?​