Medical Can someone advise me on what I should do next?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello and thank you for looking over this and commenting.

I have an MCAT of 513 (126, 128, 129, 130) , sGPA of 3.95, cGPA of 3.96.
I am a resident of Virginia.
In terms of shadowing, I have 240 hours. I have 3000+ hours of research with three research professors, three research grants, a poster presentation, an acknowledgment in a manuscript, a thesis defense, and a potential authorship (ongoing research).
I am a part of several organizations and hold a leadership position in some. I worked as a tutor and now as a Learning Assistant (student teaching.)
I have 157 hours of non-clinical volunteering done and 102 clinical volunteering hours.

I came to the US in 2014 as a refugee and only recently got my citizenship. I am also Muslim and from Iraq and made sure to highlight my journey in my personal statement, from fleeing, to moving constantly in fear of deportation in the Middle East, to moving to the US as refugees and how medicine has been integral to me throughout.

I have applied to the following schools:

Drexel
Sidney Kimmel
Lewis Katz
Georgetown
George Washington
UALR
TAMU
U of Maryland
UNC
Howard
VCU
Eastern Virginia
VTC
Albert Einstein

I got rejected from Georgetown and have a hold from George Washington. The rest of the schools have given me nothing--radio silence. I am in college in Texas and will graduate from here so I applied to TAMU and I graduated high school from Arkansas so I have strong ties there as well.

I completed all of my applications between 07/29 and 08/15 and am complete at each school.