Can someone realistically break down the price of overhead?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hyperbaricoxy

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I have been thinking endlessly about this for months and need your advice. I currently work as an independent contractor at 40% of what I bring in (no other perks). I have worked in 3 different offices, my first office I worked at 27%, my 2nd at 35%, and finally got an offer for 40%. I am happy with this in terms of my income, but I am unhappy in the sense that many things are beyond my control. For example, if my “boss” was to suddenly get greedy he could lower me to 25-30% which I would refuse and then he would simply replace me with someone who would. And I don’t like the fact I am so reliant on another person for my job security. And lastly, I dislike the fact that I am required to work 35-40 hours a week because I would like to spend more time with my family and kids and engage in other hobbies and would like to work part time which he won’t allow (and this is understandable).

So there is a new opportunity another podiatrist is offering. And could those who have their own practice breakdown the overhead for my specific situation.

For sake of simplicity let’s ONLY consider the costs of working one day a week for one month. In reality I will only be working 2-3 days a week here.

Key notes: I do not do any surgery! So I do not need a surgical scheduler which I think saves a good amount.
Here is what I have so far (for working ONCE a week for one month):

• Let’s say the one day I choose to work on is a Monday. I get two rooms. The podiatrist renting this space to me is charging $800 a month for one day a week (this price also includes electricity/water/internet/cleaning/etc AND use of his x-ray machine and ultrasound at no additional fee).
  • I will need an MA. I will pay $15 an hour. So an 8 hour workday=$120 a day thus $480 a month.