Can we hear from some Nontrad dental students/dentists?

Jun 20, 2020
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Dental
To begin...
I have wanted to be a dentist since I was 10!
I am a minority and come from very humble beginnings. Trying hard to get to this point has felt like reinventing the wheel multiple times. But no more, I would love some advice! :rolleyes:

So my GPA suffered through 3 particular semesters that had to do with family/sickness.
I graduated w/BS in 2016, have since had 2 children while working on a computer-related degree online.
But life is too short, I know I need to chase my dream.
So:
I will be taking upper-level prereqs and courses as well.
If you can share ANY:
...Advice,
..."Don't Forget"s,
...Success Stories,
...Tips on managing school as a parent,
...or Interview tips.
(then THANKS so much!! :kiss:)

Here's my Tip :
I have recently found that reaching out to schools is GREAT. I was able to attend a Dental-Career exploration-style seminar all online (going over specialties, school-life, and other basic information :clap: ).
I have also recently learned that there are Dentists/Students out there who want to help! Hear their stories, and then share yours.

Thank you in advance, future Dr.Mom:love:

Last edited:
Aug 3, 2017
North Scottsdale, Arizona
Status (Visible)
  1. Dentist
You'll find plenty of related threads on this forum.
Just curious why you have to classify yourself as a minority. You mentioned it twice. Why is there even a reason for bringing that into a conversation? For the record .... I am half Asian. But I don't consider myself half a minority lol. Just curious.

Anyway. Good luck with your future career. Dentistry is a great career as long as you can keep the debt to a minimum.

Last edited:
Jun 20, 2020
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Dental
Just curious why you have to classify yourself as a minority. You mentioned it twice. Why is there even a reason for bringing that into a conversation?