Can we register for Step III in any state (and practice somewhere else?)

Sep 13, 2009
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Hi,
I know this question has probably been asked many times before, but the latest post I found about this was from 2008, and I want to verify that this is still true.

I am an intern in TN, which requires you finish intern year before taking the Step 3. However, I've heard that I can register for the Step 3 in any state and take it in any state. What I'm wondering is, can I still moonlight in TN after I take the Step 3? It doesn't make sense to me that certain states would have restrictions on when you can take it during residency, but you can still take it in any state and be able to practice in the very state that imposed the restrictions. Isn't this a giant loophole? Why have different restrictions if it's so easily bypassed?

Anyone who can verify what I just asked?

Thanks!

OP
L
Sep 13, 2009
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Can someone please answer my question? It'll take like 5 seconds. The reason I'm asking is because even after reading the info online, there's nothing that clarifies my question. It's like a giant loophole that has not been addressed.

Methodnike

Family Physician
10+ Year Member
Sep 6, 2006
Greater Cincinnati area
Status
Attending Physician
Can someone please answer my question? It'll take like 5 seconds. The reason I'm asking is because even after reading the info online, there's nothing that clarifies my question. It's like a giant loophole that has not been addressed.
yes you can register in one state, do the exam in another, and practice in a 3rd state. YES

ilovepath

Y
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Apr 13, 2006
Status
Medical Student