Can you be covered under your parents health insurance as a med student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dedikated2liftn

Bodybuilder
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, not sure if this is the right forum to ask this but gonna go ahead anyways. Let me begin by saying I graduated undergrad in 2006 and have been paying for my own insurance for the past two years through my proivder/company. Since I'll be on a much tighter budget for the next four years of my career, I was wondering if it's commonplace for medical students to be able to be covered under their parent's health insurance. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

usually your parents health insurance will cover a student till age 23 or 25 but then you are dropped no matter what, it depends on your age and policy.

Many policies will no longer allow you to be considered a dependent (under your parents) once you turn 25. So most med students, at some point, have to switch and pay for their own health insurance - often the best plans are affiliated with the school and thus are heavily discounted.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was wondering if it's commonplace for medical students to be able to be covered under their parent's health insurance. Thanks.

I don't know if it's commonplace to be covered by parental insurance, but I'll be covered until I'm done with my third year of medical school. Annoyingly, each semester I have to submit proof of coverage (filled out form, copy of coverage card, copy of benefits) so I can get back the already-paid $247/semester (minus a paperwork fee) I am required to submit twice a year. But it's worth it, as I can buy a lot of groceries with that money.

I'm covered by my Mom's insurance until I'm 25. As stated before, I just have to submit proof of enrollment.