Can you guys critique my study technique?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MMForever

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am entering the next semester and I just wanna improve and continue to get better. Overall, all I want to do is become efficient and remove things that are a waste of time?

To preface, I know that everyone has a different study technique and learn differently. What works for one person may not work for another. I also know that if something is working, then I should stick with it. However, I spend a very large amount of time studying and I just want to try to be efficient in my studying and study in a manner that helps me learn and not just waste my time.

My school currently uses PowerPoints a primary study tool. I am a slightly above average student but know that I can do better.

I attend all lectures and make sure to focus. When I get home, I study each PowerPoint by retaking notes on the PowerPoint on a separate word document. For some reason, just simply taking notes on word is taking a lot of time. Perhaps I am not focusing enough but I'm really going slow for some reason.

After making a word document, I do one of two things. I either print out the word document and reread it while highlighting. OR I will convert my word document into Quizlet flash cards.

It seems that a lot of my technique is just rewriting notes without actual studying. I'm also rarely having enough time to do everything I listed for each PowerPoint. It just seems like I'm wildely inefficient.

Can you guys list how you tackle each "PowerPoint" or critique my study method? I would like to improve during the next semester. Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

I am entering the next semester and I just wanna improve and continue to get better. Overall, all I want to do is become efficient and remove things that are a waste of time?