can you have TOO many shadowing hours?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tyrtuga

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a rising sophomore in college– and I'm about to enter my 5th year of shadowing. I shadowed for 4 years in HS and have accumulated over 500 hours already. Would it look weird to have something like 1000 by the time I apply? Weird question I guess.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think it would be looked at negatively, but there are definitely diminishing returns on shadowing after a certain point, and that point comes long before 500 hours. That being said, the only way it becomes a negative is if your application is missing other EC's. Ceteris paribus, an application with 100 hours shadowing, 100 hours volunteering, and a year of research is significantly better than an application with 500+ hours shadowing but no volunteering or research.

You should probably channel some of your time into getting clinical volunteering time in the future as opposed to shadowing. Diversify your clinical experience and it's a more active thing to do than just watch.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I thought whatever you did in HS does not matter as far as med school applications go? So he couldn't use those first 500 hours...
Either way I agree with the people above me.

Experiences in high school shouldn't be listed on your med school application, so it makes sense to get some more hours in college...like, 50-100, not 500.
I'm no adcom, but if I saw 500-1000 shadowing hours, I'd wonder why on earth you weren't using that time more productively (volunteering or working).

Reactions: 4 users