This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sswxqw

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Canadian here, I'm currently in 4th year of undergraduate honors neuroscience. How competitive am I as an international applicant for MD and DO? Is it worth it to apply to MD at all?

GPA 3.6-3.7 with progression of 3.85, 3.65, 3.94, 3.3-3.4. Are fluctuations detrimental to applications?

Unbalanced 514 MCAT :
129/124(cars)/129/132

Summer research position and graduation thesis, no publications.

President and executive to 2 student groups related to music and community service. Mental health campaigns and 100+hr of crisis intervention training and help line volunteer. 100+hr of hospital musician therapist. 200+hr overseas shadowing.

Extracurricular: musician (piano since 6 and university concert band), artist, travelling

Any tips will help! Do I have any chance at MD schools? My impression is that I would be counted as international student, so my 3.6/7gpa won't be competitive for most MD schools. For example, my stat may still have a shot as in state for the school in Hawaii, but for out of state I'm far from it. I do not have any publications so I won't be able to gain points for research portion of the applications.

Am I competitive for the top tier DO schools?

Should I do a 5th year to improve my GPA? Redoing the MCAT for a better CARS score?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.