Canadian Contemplating US Schools

Discussion in 'General International Discussion' started by Jon Davis, Aug 25, 2002.

1. Jon Davis

Jon Davis I killed the bank.

Hello, I'm a Canadian going to an American university. I have a 3.97 gpa and I'm in my second year. I've been researching medicine as a career for 3 years now. I feel that I will specialize in a field rather than become a GP. My question is, where do I learn about the differences between US and Canadian schools? I read that "Thewonderer" is a Canadian/US medical student and so if you can please respond. Any one else in the same position as "Thewonderer" please respond. (Cost is NOT an issue.)

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Airborne

Airborne Senior Member

Jon:

My knowledge of Canadian med schools is limited, but I have undertaken an elective overseas, as a US med student.

In general, I think that medicine is medicine, no matter which country you attend. The training itself varies, but in the end, we are (or should I say will be) trained equally well. Moreover, within the US, there are SO many different models, the choice of which school in the US to attend is a major debate in itself. As a Canadian med school graduate, you would enter the Match as an independent applicant. If you want to get a US residency, I would look at the match statistics - In 2001, 67.5% of Active Canadian applicants matched. More detail can be found at:

http://www.nrmp.org//res_match/table2.htm

If specializing is your goal, I would compare what % of Canadians eventually get into your specialty of interest (as compared to in the US) - and also temper the time to getting into your specialty.... I know that in many countries, there can be very long waits (ie many years as a registrar) to get a preferred training position.

In anycase, you could always apply to both and make your decision after interviewing!

Airborne