Canadian doing MD in the US... Problems in residency matching?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

snarkie

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm a Canadian student from Ontario who was lucky enough to get into the Geisel SOM at Dartmouth this cycle. It is also my top choice in US schools, so I am pretty thrilled! I am currently waiting on two Canadian schools, who do not release results until mid-May. I have a couple of questions regarding residency matches if I do enroll at Geisel.

Question 1: How challenging is it for Canadian students who do their US in the states to find residency in Canada, assuming that it is not one of the ROAD specialties? All I know so far is that doing rotations in 3rd/4th year in Canada helps. Do we match along with the Canadian MD students?

Question 2: How challenging is it for us to find residencies spots in the US? Are we significantly disadvantaged compared to US citizens?

If anyone has insight, please do let me know. Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

You will be treated as a US student. I am an international student at a US MD school. International students at my school match ok. One just matched for surgery at WashU.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi guys, I'm a Canadian student from Ontario who was lucky enough to get into the Geisel SOM at Dartmouth this cycle. It is also my top choice in US schools, so I am pretty thrilled! I am currently waiting on two Canadian schools, who do not release results until mid-May. I have a couple of questions regarding residency matches if I do enroll at Geisel.

Question 1: How challenging is it for Canadian students who do their US in the states to find residency in Canada, assuming that it is not one of the ROAD specialties? All I know so far is that doing rotations in 3rd/4th year in Canada helps. Do we match along with the Canadian MD students?