canadian guy wondering about his shot

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Habbas

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey there im a relativlely new guy here, im in 2nd year of undergrad in microbiology in ontario, first year i got a 3.2ish gpa but during second year ive bee working hard and have it upto a 3.7, and have yet to do the mcat
im also looking into pharmacy and optometry, im wondering about my chances options etc

Members don't see this ad.

I think you're solid, even for Canada. Ontario has more than one school so you'll be fine if you continue to get a 3.7 from here on out. You're good for the states too, but it will be cheaper if you stay home.

Yeah your GPA is great right now. Keep it going. Dont forget about your extra curriculars too

Members don't see this ad :)
yeah the thing is my universiyt uses a 12 point scale and i fond the 12. scale to GPA conversion HERES TEH CHART I GOUND:

12-Point --------------- 4-Point
12 ---------------------- 4.0
11 ---------------------- 3.9
10 ---------------------- 3.7
9 ----------------------- 3.3
8 ----------------------- 3.0
7 ----------------------- 2.7
6 ----------------------- 2.3
5 ----------------------- 2.0
4 ----------------------- 1.7
3 ----------------------- 1.3
2 ----------------------- 1.0
1 ----------------------- 0.7
0 ----------------------- 0.0

my average last year was lke a 9, and this year is around a 10.2

extracurriculars also vary but i have job shadowing experience at a dental office, activites in nursing homes and long term care facilities, multiple jobs, and clubs

im also scared because i got a B- in organic chemistry I