Canadian Medical Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Isabelle

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Could anybody offer any opinions, ideas, concerns, information, etc. about Americans attending medical school in Canada (with intent to practice in the United States)?

Members don't see this ad.

Isabelle,

I am a Canadian student, studying at a Canadian medical school. Canadian schools are considered on par with American schools and graduates of Canadian medical schools are NOT consider FMGs when they apply for residencies in the USA. However, Canadian medical school admissions are probably more competative than it would be for you at many American schools, so it isn't really an option for those who do not have the scores to get in to an american school.

If you have any more specific questions I'd be happy to try and answer them.

Good luck.

Also, since Canadian medical schools are government funded, they have very specific guidelines about their preferences when it comes to admissions. They clearly state in the application that they prefer Canadian citizens living in the province of that medical school, then Canadian citizens not living in that province, and finally everyone else. Needless to say, being from the U.S. puts you at an extreme disadvantage right off the bat regardless of how strong your application may be. Then again, with a chance to attend medical school with a tuition of only ~$4500 USD/year, it may be worth it to apply
smile.gif

Members don't see this ad :)