Canadian Medical Student - US residency position

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

onelastpuff23

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
HI everyone,

I am a Canadian medical student in my final year but am dual citizen with the US. I am interested in doing an ophthalmology residency in the US. Firstly, the programs in Canada are small in number and therefore incredibly challenging to match to. Since we don't have any standardized exams, it largely becomes a large inbreeding networking issue.

I am very much interested in seeing the medical system in the US. It seems there are more opportunities and the research is second-to-none.

My revelation to pursue residency in the states came very late into my application game. Given I come from a three year program, I found it challenging to do the US boards (no summers). Secondly, given I am in the middle of an application cycle, I thought about accepting an internal medicine/family medicine residency spot to fulfill the transition year/prelim requirement. Given that both countries have similar accreditation I thought this would be a good transition.

What are your thoughts?

Is my plan naive?

Members don't see this ad.

Unfortunately, ophthalmology is also pretty competitive in the US--mean USMLE step 1 score is 243, compared to a national average of 228. I'm not sure how you would manage to secure the high board scores that you would need to be competitive for an ophthalmology residency while you're simultaneously completing intern year of a residency. I'm also not sure how you would get useful ophtho letters of recommendation for your application since you'll, again, be doing IM/FM residency--while it's not JUST a networking inbreeding game, for highly competitive residencies it's really helpful if the person reviewing your application knows the people who wrote your letters.