Canadian Re-applicant-need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Steven1991

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I am a Canadian who applied last summer to MD schools and received 3 interviews with 2 current waitlists. Unfortunately that means I'll be reapplying for the following cycle in case I don't ultimately get off the waitlists.

I graduated with a degree in physiology last year at a top Canadian university with a cGPA=3.85 and an sGPA=3.89. My MCAT score is a 35 (13P/8V/14B) but this is my 3rd attempt. Since graduating, I began pursuing a Master's of Science in physiology and will graduate with a 4.0. Will graduate early (July) if I get off the waitlists or continue for the full 2 years if I have to reapply.

The rest of my application in brief:
- 200hrs of clinical experience including volunteering in a hospital and shadowing physicians
- week long medical mission trip to South America
- 2 years/~600 hours as a student council member
- editor of a university research journal
- organized mentorship program
- 1 year TA
- 2 years of research (led my own projects) including >25K in research grants and numerous presentations at scientific conferences
- will be submitting 2 non-first author publications in the next couple of months to high impact journals. Will potentially be submitting 1 more first author publication to a lower impact journal
- all my references have known me for multiple years and I have no reason to doubt that there are any issues with the letters
-some other volunteering and extracurriculars activities

Possible issues with my application:
- I applied late. Submitted in July, verified end of August, and was complete at most schools by end of September/early October. All 3 of my interviews were in February which is also relatively late