CANADIAN resident wanting to do US fellowship - USMLE required?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GewoW

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a first year derm resident in Canada. I am interested in potentially completing a fellowship in the US. I am wondering if there is an absolute requirement to pass all USMLEs even with both LMCCs passed and both Canadian and US derm board exams passed.

I know this limits you in J1 vs H1B visa, but if I am planning on returning, do most states accept LMCCs for the purpose of J1? I have seen this: http://www.ama-assn.org//ama/pub/ab...e/state-licensure-board-requirements-img.page
Is this info all that is needed? Can a school require USMLE certification even though that state doesn't? If yes, short of calling every school to find out, is there any other way of knowing?

If anyone who can shed some light, it would be really appreciated.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I'm a first year derm resident in Canada. I am interested in potentially completing a fellowship in the US. I am wondering if there is an absolute requirement to pass all USMLEs even with both LMCCs passed and both Canadian and US derm board exams passed.

I know this limits you in J1 vs H1B visa, but if I am planning on returning, do most states accept LMCCs for the purpose of J1? I have seen this: http://www.ama-assn.org//ama/pub/ab...e/state-licensure-board-requirements-img.page
Is this info all that is needed? Can a school require USMLE certification even though that state doesn't? If yes, short of calling every school to find out, is there any other way of knowing?

If anyone who can shed some light, it would be really appreciated.

Thanks