1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Canadian Student who needs advice

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by jeet323, Dec 21, 2008.

1. jeet323

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    Hello, I am studying Biochem in Canada in my 3rd year. I have roughly a 3.7 GPA and a slightly higher science average. I have been volunteering at Canadian blood services since highschool and I have also been volunteering at my local hospital in the ER over the past few months. I plan to get 100+ hours by the summer and write my MCAT as well. Unfortunately I have yet to get involved with any research but I plan to do that as my 4th year thesis and possibly in the summer as well. What are my chances? Should I apply after I write my MCAT in the summer? Or should I wait until after my 4th year once I get more research experience? Also, I have been looking over the boards and I noticed advice on shadowing a doctor, how do I get involved with that? In my city there is no teaching hospital as my University is not that big. Also, my first choice would be getting accepted in Canada, but if not, I would definitly be open to med schools in the states. What are my chances? Thanks for your help and I would appreciate any feedback.

#1 jeet323, Dec 21, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2008
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. schnauzr

schnauzr New Member
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Overall, you seem to be doing fine.
    Your GPA is fine.
    Your chance will vary greatly depending on your MCAT score and the schools you apply to.