bruciebaby45

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jun 3, 2003
Status (Visible)
I am a Canadian student that has been accepted a school in NY state. While I am still waiting to hear from a couple of schools up here and make my final decision, I thought it would be good to get the ball rolling. I was hoping someone might have some advice on things such as applying for a student visa (when and where?), finical aid (I?m I eligible?) and if I will be able to come back to Canada to practice. Thanks for any help,
Bruciebaby45

ify

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 27, 2004
aerosol
Status (Visible)
I'm kind of interested in the last part of your question too. I'm also Canadian, and got into some american schools that I'm seriously considering going to. I'm wondering what my chances are if I decide to come back. I know currently it is hard to get a Canadian residency if you school outside of Canada. But I've also heard a rumor that CARMS is thinking of allowing Canadian citizens who study in america to match during the first round. Does anyone know anything about this? As far as I know, it's a rumor.

noclouds

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 6, 2004
California
Status (Visible)
hey, i'm also a canadian but i did my undergrad in the US as well.

as far as i'm aware, canadians shouldn't need the F-1 student visa actually printed into our passports, but we'll need the I-20 (this document you carry around when you enter or leave the US). as for applying for one, the school should send you information about it, if not, contact their office that deals with international students....they'll get you started.

with financial aid...anything that's federal, you must be a US citizen or permanent resident to be eligible. Some loans are available to non-US people, but they require a US co-signer. if you want some names of these loans, lemme know.

does anyone know about canadian scholarships that would help canadians go to grad (med) school in the US??