Canine Rehabilitation/PT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PoggySue

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I'm currently a rising undergraduate, and I recently decided to take a year off before applying to veterinary school because I know my application is not nearly competitive enough in regards to my experience hours.

Because of my first hand experience seeing its benefits, I'm really interested in canine rehabilitation/sports medicine/physical therapy, such as the certification offered to DVMs and PTs through the Canine Rehabilitation Institute: http://www.caninerehabinstitute.com/CCRT.html.

Does anyone have an inside information on this field? Such as how much money DVMs or PTs in this practice make? I'm assuming it's not their sole income, and they take a slight salary cut to do what they enjoy. If that is the case, I've been debating whether the PT to CCRT route is a better option because (in my area at least), PTs have a higher salary and have more flexible schedules than DVMs. It seems like it would be easier financially and scheduling wise to pursue this specialty from the PT route.

Any thoughts? Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't have a ton of experience with this. I only wanted to tell you about K9 Wellness Center here where I live and that is her ONLY job. She has a facility for clients to come to and she travels for consults on CCL repairs etc. (I know her because we work with her at my clinic and because she was amazing for PT with my back dachshund) So I don't know how feasible it is in every situation, but I think it's doable to make it your only "job" :)

Personally, I would go the PT route with a whole bunch of experience on handling.