Jan 3, 2012
Status
Medical Student
To upper-year medical students: as a first-year medical student, I can't seem to remember anything from before Christmas, and I'm not talking about the minute details - all I remember about the olecranon is that it's a part of one of the bones at the elbow joint, all I remember about cell-mediated immunity is that it involves cytotoxic T-cells killing cells infected by viruses, and I don't recall at all which parts of the nephron reabsorbs what. Most of my classmates are having a little trouble remembering what we learned before, but they still seem to recall much more info than I do... Will this be a problem for my Step 1 studying?

I feel like I only remember the very big picture about each of the subjects but I guess re-learning the details will be much easier if I encounter the need later on, ie. for Step 1 or clinical practice.

BurghStudent

lurker
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 19, 2009
Status
Medical Student
I am the same exact way, and I don't think this problem is uncommon. When I know my stuff, I know it. After my exams, it's more or less gone besides the big ideas. I have looked a lot into this, and it seems the only way for me to keep the details in my mind for good is through repetition, i.e. there is no memory pill. I'm not endorsing it, but I have settled on going through Firecracker (previously Gunner Training). Starting this in MS1 will hopefully keep me on top of everything until a year from now.

Nov 30, 2013
Status
Medical Student
Sounds like you had a better holiday break than your classmates! ;)

I've been where you are, and my advice: honestly, relax. The information is stored in there somewhere, and it'll come back by relearning the material over-and-over-and-over again. Just tackle the new material being presented now, and focus on Step 1 during second year.

Reactions: 235009

alpinism

Give Em' the Jet Fuel
7+ Year Member
Nov 6, 2011
Detroit