Cardiology elective at cleveland clinic

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tivark

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
im scheduled for an elective rotation in ohio sometime in december. has anyone done one there before? how was it? what was expected out of you as a student? what would you have done differently to make the most out of it?

to make the most out of my time, id like to know what i could before the elective to equipt myself well. im looking to gain great experience and a good recommendation letter after.

anything i should brush up on that would help me loads? id appreciate the suggestions folks, thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I did a month there as a fourth year medical student. I spent the month in their Cards ICU rather than a consult month. This meant taking a little call but by far the most intense and worthwhile rotation while I was a student.

If you're set up for a consult month, I'd encourage you to try and arrange some time in the unit. Their cards ICU is among the largest and highest acuity in the nation.

Would review major topics on Up To Date to begin with. I think this is the best approach for medical students...topics like STEMI management, management CHF, articles on inotropes/pressors, etc. This will beat any book you can find.