Apparition

1K Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 6, 2002
Status (Visible)
Has anyone started a non-medical career before deciding to apply to med school? In what field, how did it go, and why did you decide to leave it? :cool:

aidan73

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 14, 2003
TX
Status (Visible)
Well, it wasn't a conscious decision, I really was not pre-med as an undergrad. I did not start thinking about applying to med school until March 2003. I graduated in 1999.

I was totally non-trad the whole time. Started the degree when I was 20, finished at 26. I thought at the time I would go into teaching. Talking to some actual teachers kinda changed my mind! I'm the first in a very large extended family to graduate from college, but hopefully not the last. I have cousin that is at UT-Austin and really has her heart set on PharmD.

So here I have a Bio degree, working as an oil/gas analyst. The job is not that bad, it's just not what I want to be doing with my life. The pay is good, and the benefits are great. Hell, my boss's office is about 15-20 miles north of here and I go weeks at a time without talking to her - not that she's the devil or anything, but it is a sweet situation!

I will be 31 this summer, and 32 when I start if I get accepted this cycle. I'll be sitting for the MCAT this month while I 'm 8 months pregnant. Do I wish I hadn't done this so ass backwards? Yes, but that's just how it worked out.

hilikus

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 21, 2004
San Antonio
Status (Visible)
I'm a non-trad with a degree in journalism. I work in television news in San Antonio directing the 5pm & 10pm news at a network affiliate. It's been tough juggling both because they are both equally demanding but I like the challenge. Hopefully it will pay off when I take the MCAT in a year.

About the Ads

DOCTORSAIB

Ophtho or bust!
15+ Year Member
Dec 16, 2000
Baltimore, MD
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]