Carib student with low step 1 score pathology residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jokes of life

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi
I'm a carib student with a low step 1 score.I just took the test and got a 194.I didn't expect the score as I was score above 200 in all my practice tests.But now I cannot change what has already happened.I'm worried about my chances in applying to a pathology residency. I'm moving onto my third year and would like to know what I can do to offset that and I worry that my application will not even meet the cut off for programs to open my application file.How do I work around this.Any advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

If you can do significantly better on the Step 2 CK and Step 3 exams you will have a shot at some of the lower tier programs. Also, doing away rotations might help open some doors. Good Luck.

Yeah, you can probably still get interviews at low tier programs, but you'll need to apply very broadly and do everything you can to buff up the rest of your CV. As mentioned away rotations are a great option. People are more willing to overlook academic struggles if they know you personally and you've demonstrated a good work ethic and a personality that fits in. Be sure to schedule aways at places that you would be more competitive at though. Look for programs that already have one or more Caribbean residents there, especially if there's someone from your school.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
i would stay away from pathology now. your board score is bad and your carib, so the only programs that would want to take you would be low-tier community programs with poor teaching and low surgical volume. finding a decent job after that would be difficult, even after doing two fellowships, and the possibility of being unemployed would be real. pursue family medicine instead since you would always be able to find work.