Aug 12, 2020
Status
  1. Pre-Medical
Hi there, I'm currently a freshman in college at a public university in Florida and I'm not happy here. It's online, but I had the opportunity to visit the campus earlier in the year and I really did NOT like it at all. I don't vibe with it, there are too many undergraduates (upwards of 35k here) and it's impossible to stand out here. I also don't like the fact that I'm literally just a number here. I don't want to go to classes where there is 300+ people in each class and I hate the school colors and mascot. I have a full-tuition scholarship but it's meaningless because almost everyone gets this state-funded scholarship and tuition is under $7k here; I still have to pay over $15k for dorm and other necessities and the financial aid here is absolute garbage. Also, no one from here gets into any medical schools other than local unranked in-state ones from what I've heard.

It's currently drop/add week and it ends Friday at 11:59 pm so I can just drop all of my classes and enroll in community college without any penalties. I want to take the transfer route regardless of if I go to CC or continue this university (after one year). At CC I plan on taking some general classes like Chem, Bio, English, Psych, Stats and I'll try to avoid taking some of the main pre-reqs like biochemistry or physics. I believe I can get a higher GPA at a CC because I know at my 4-year institution some of these courses are really hard. I could possibly get a much higher GPA overall for medical school applications as well. If I'm going to be transferring after one year at my current uni I'm wondering if it's even worth it to attend classes there. I'm just trying to save some money at CC and to do better in my classes. Plus, my mental health is pretty bad right now so I think easing my way into college would be right for me.

I would appreciate any sort of advice as I have to make this decision within the next two days.

candbgirl

Lifetime Donor
Gold Donor