Cellular or Microbiology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sartre

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm applying this summer, but have decided to take two upper level bio courses in the evenings this fall. I'm definitely taking Biochemistry, but I'm trying to decide between cellular bio and microbiology.

Do any of you bio majors have any thoughts? Which class will better prepare me for med school? Which is generally more challenging? (Both have labs). I work full-time, so I don't want to completely overdo it.

Thanks for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

i've taken both and found them to be very useful. microbio was more challenging for me, mostly because we had to memorize in detail 100+ viral and bacterial diseases and i'm not very good at that (hopefully i'll get better, lol). however, i do know that you will also end up taking a microbio course in med school.

cell bio was very useful in that it's a necessary foundation for understanding other areas of bio, like developmental bio or physiology. it's also a basic knowledge that you will use in many parts of the MCAT. i'd say go with this one, even though both will end up preparing you well for med school.

burntfries said:
i've taken both and found them to be very useful. microbio was more challenging for me, mostly because we had to memorize in detail 100+ viral and bacterial diseases and i'm not very good at that (hopefully i'll get better, lol). however, i do know that you will also end up taking a microbio course in med school.

cell bio was very useful in that it's a necessary foundation for understanding other areas of bio, like developmental bio or physiology. it's also a basic knowledge that you will use in many parts of the MCAT. i'd say go with this one, even though both will end up preparing you well for med school.