Cetified Dental Assistant or Job Shadowing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

woox

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will be applying to dental school in 1/2 years, I was wondering if it is better for extracurricular activities to be a CDA (take exam) or just simply job shadow? It would seem being a CDA would be more "hands on" and more experience

Members don't see this ad.

I thought my (certified) dental assisting experience went a long way, and you can also put your time working as an assistant under the Shadowing section of AADSAS. It'll definitely raise an eyebrow compared to someone who wasn't an assistant, but it wouldn't be a drastic difference.

And you have to take a test? Hm, we didn't have to take one in CA. Realistically though in many states, a certified dental assistant is the same job as someone hired off the street as a dental assistant.

I agree with the post posted before. I worked as a dental assistant throughout college before applying to dental school. My interviewers were more interested in my working experience as compared to my shadowing experiences because of my hand skills that I gained and the tasks that I completed. Working as a dental assistant is just more interactive and provides for more opportunities. About the test, I did not take one since my dentist trained me.

Members don't see this ad :)
a paid position means you're actually doing some dentistry rather than standing in the corner watching. you're in the game and on the team. also, you have a better idea about whats going on in dentistry if you get to tag along w/ the dentist to study clubs and conferences. downside = lots of time you could be using to get better grades and make you a stronger applicant. but if you put up an assistant vs shadower...there's no contest.