Dec 14, 2010
Status
Other Health Professions Student
Interested in doing an International Rotation in India? Read about my experience below and contact Child Family Health International (CFHI) if you are interested:
I am a second-year physician assistant student at the University of Iowa and participated in the Rural/Urban Himalayan rotation in India this past October. This experience allowed me to be immersed in a culture and healthcare system very different from my own back home. Between the colorful clothing, smells, food, transportation and language present in Northern India I really felt like I was in a different world. Despite these differences, I found myself drawing some similarities between culture and religious practices in India to that of western culture and religion. For example, many Christian religions use specific robes, colors, ashes, candles, and water to represent certain aspects of their religious beliefs. In India I found myself watching a Hindu ceremony with many of the same basic objects but only in different forms, colors, and languages.
There are also multiple kinds of medical practice that we don’t usually encounter here in the United States. For example, many Indian doctors practice ayurvedic medicine, which includes a specific set of beliefs and herbal medicines. Other Indian doctors practice more traditional allopathic western medicine, while still some practice both. Encountering this alternate set of beliefs about medicine has really made me aware of some beliefs Indian patients in the U.S. may come to clinic with.